Future

28.01.2011 16:42

WILL FUTURE:

-         for sudden decisions (náhlá rozhodnutí), something which is not planned, promises and offers

Oh, I am bored... I will go to the cinema! (teď vás to napadlo)

A: John came to the Czech republic yesterday.

B: Oh, really? I will call him! (it is your reaction to new information)

I will be nice, mum. I promise.

 

A: I am going to the swimming pool.

B: Wait! I will go with you!

 

-         For predictions (předpovědi, věštby)

It usually follows I think, I am sure, I know, I hope

A fortune teller told me: „You will have five children!“

I think you will be successful. (it is your prediction)

 

 

TO BE GOING TO FUTURE:

-         Plans

I am going to be a king when I am adult.

She is going to study at university when she finishes secondary school.

-         something is about to happen

Look! The baby is going to fall down! (Vidíte dítě na balkoně, které přelézá zábradlí)

It is going to rain. (it is cloudy)

 

 

Try it: (there is a key at the end of the list so check your answers)

1 Do you think it .................(snow)?

2 Come on. You .....................(be late for school)

3 Look! The cars .......................(crash)

4 Why are you buying so many eggs? I .................(have) a pancake party.

5 Have you heard? John ....................(study) at university.

6 I am sure she ....................(pass) the exam.

7 A: It is John’s birthday tomorrow. What .....................(you/ buy) him?

    B: I ...............................(buy) him a CD.

    A: He does not have a CD player.

    B: Oh, so I ..............(buy) him a book.

8 Look! They ................(kiss)

9 A: I have a headache.

   B: I .................(take) you an aspirin.

10 A: My bag is so heavy.

     B: Wait! I ..............(help) you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are also two other ways how to express future:

 

PRESENT SIMPLE

-         for fixed actions, timetables, programmes, something given by authorities

the train leaves at five tomorrow.

The exhibition starts on 7th of July.

The film starts at 8.

 

PRESENT CONTINUOUS

-         for arranged events

I am having lunch with John tomorrow.

I am seeing my bank manager on Monday

(Mezi to going to future a present continuous je jen malý rozdíl. To be going to je plán, hodláte to udělat,ještě to není ale na 100% zařízeno (I am going to travel to France on holiday. – je to váš plán, ještě jste to ale nezačali zařizovat X I am travelling to France on holiday – už to mám zařízeno, už mám letenku i ubytování.)

present continuous future si poznamenáte do diáře – I am having lunch woth John

to be going to znamená hodlám – Why are you carrying a bucket full of water? I am going to wash my car.

 

Try it (there is a key at the end of the list)


1 I ..............(travel) around the world after my studies

2 I ..............(stay) at a friend’s house. She has invited me.

3 I ..............(make) the dinner tomorrow. I promise.

4 That looks really heavy. I .........(help) you.

5 We ............(meet) some friends after work tomorrow. We have booked a beautiful restaurant.

6 I ...............(go) on a diet after Christmas.

7 Look at the traffic! I donť think we ......... (be) on time.

8 Hasn’t he came yet? I ........(call) him to find out what’s the matter.

9 A: Would you like to play tennis with us tonight?

   B: I am sorry. I ...........(go) to the cinema.

10 Have you organized your summer holiday yet?

     Yes, we ..................(spend) two weeks in Austria.

      WOW, that ..............(be) great!

11 Look! She .................(kill) him!

12 A: We don’t have anything to eat!

     B: Oh, I............(go) to the shops.

13 When ...................(the film end)?

 

Will x to be going to

(1 will snow, 2 will be 3 are going to crash  4 am going to have 5 is going to study  6 will pass           

  7 are you going to buy, I am going to buy, will buy 8 are going to kiss 9 will take 10 will help)

 

mixture:

1 am going to travel 2 am staying 

3 will make 4 will help 

5 are meeting 6 am going (to go)

7 will be 8 will call 9 am going

10 are spending, will be

11 is going to  12 will go

13 does the film end